Port of Cromarty Firth (Team and Board Members)

Port of Cromarty Firth Board Members

The Port board consists of the following eight members appointed by an open and transparent process. The board and executive management are the joint focus for the accountability of the trust port in the conduct of the port’s business.

The Port’s board meets regularly to review the Port’s business and future plans. They are not owners or shareholders; they manage the Trust Port which reinvests all its profits into the development of the port. Their duty is to safeguard the valuable assets of the Port and hand them on in the same or better condition to future generations.

Hugh Mitchell – Chair

Hugh Mitchell has worked for Royal Dutch Shell for more than 37 years, the last 11 of which have been served as Chief HR and Corporate Officer. As a member of Shell’s Global Executive Committee, Hugh commands extensive experience in all sectors of the oil and gas industry. He is currently Vice Chairman of Edinburgh Business School and is a visiting lecturer at London Business School and the University of Edinburgh.

Robert McCaig – Board Member

Robert McCaig is a Chartered Engineer with 40 years of professional experience and is a Fellow of The Institute of Marine Engineering, Science & Technology.  Also, a Fellow of The Institution of Mechanical Engineers with voluntary roles of Membership Advisor and Professional Review Interviewer.  Has good knowledge of the Cromarty Firth area and valuable experience in ports, offshore energy, and onshore support services. He is connected across the Highland region as a Consultant for Kishorn Port. Previously a Senior Manager with Babcock Marine Rosyth and Director of DECOM North Sea (DNS). At DNS, he represented Members’ interests in marine & logistics, was Chair of DNS Projects Steering Group, and was a Board Sponsor for strategic projects enabled through public sector investment.

Bob Buskie – Chief Executive

Bob Buskie joined the Port of Cromarty Firth as Chief Executive in 2013. Since then, he has transformed its economic fortunes, so a wider, more diverse business portfolio could utilise its facilities. He also crafted a business model with sustainability at its heart: economic, social and environmental. In 2019, he was named Institute of Directors Director of the Year for the Highlands and Islands, while the Port won Business of the Year and Coastal Powerhouse at the Maritime UK Awards in 2020.

Bob built his career in the International Oil and Gas Industry, working in both the operating and service sectors.  Past roles include Director of Strategy & Business Development at Sparrows Group, Chief Executive Officer in Switzerland for Omnisens SA and Group Director at RGB Ltd. He was vice-president for Stratos Global with responsibility for Europe, the Middle East and Africa and he was Managing Director at Inmarsat’s Invsat Ltd. Bob spent 10 years at Sun Oil and holds an MBA from the University of Strathclyde Business School and is an alumni of Harvard Business School.

Dr Derek McGlashan – Board Member

Dr Derek McGlashan 

Derek McGlashan has held senior roles in a number of organisations across the port industry including Aberdeen Harbour Board, Forth Ports and Port of London Authority. Holding a Ph.D. in Geomorphology and Law, Derek has held ultimate responsibility for counter terrorist security, environment, safety, sustainability and ESG reporting. Beyond ports his involvement has included energy networks, renewables, property, retail, waste and recycling. Currently Director of Saltire Sustainability Limited and a Non-Executive Director of the Forth Estuary Forum.  

Rhona Harper – Board Member

Rhona Harper is a procurement law specialist and a qualified solicitor with 24 years of experience. A partner of Shepherd and Wedderburn LLP for 18 years, Rhona led the firm’s Government and Public Sector Group. Her work has included advising the Ministry of Defence, Highways Management Scotland, and the City of Edinburgh Council. Rhona was appointed chair of Volunteer Scotland in 2017. She is currently the legal secretary for the Water Industry Commission for Scotland.

Stewart Ralston – Board Member

Stewart Ralston is an experienced Chartered Engineer and Project Manager, with extensive industry experience working with owners, operators, contractors and consultants on global energy, marine, and renewables projects. He has also held roles of Senior Partner, Executive and Non-Executive Director, Subject Matter Expert, and Expert Witness. Stewart is a member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators.

Graham Peach – Board Member

With a distinguished career in the Royal Navy, Graham Peach served for more than 30 years where he ultimately held the position of Director of Surface Combatants. Graham latterly owned and managed an international maritime support and disaster company, bringing a wealth of experience in strategic business development, leadership and corporate governance. Graham also provides support to NHS Highlands Corporate Governance teams.

Fiona Larg – Vice Chair

A chartered accountant by background Fiona brings experience across a wide variety of industry sectors working with national and international clients.
A former Chief Executive of Inverness and Nairn Enterprise Fiona has also held senior management positions with Cap Gemini, Vertex Data Science Ltd and played a formative role in the creation of the University of the Highlands and Islands as Chief Operating Officer and Secretary receiving an MBE in 2017 for services to higher education in Scotland. Fiona has held non-executive board positions with Council of the Law Society of Scotland, SCDI, Robertson Trust and Highland Tourism Community Interest Company.

Are you interested in working for an organisation that seeks to leave the Port and its assets in a better condition for future generations? As a Trust Port, 100% of our profits are reinvested in the future development of the Port. We have stakeholders, rather than shareholders, which can mean trying to please different groups of people who may have diverse opinions and beliefs about how the Port should operate. It is fast-paced, challenging and no two days are ever the same. We are a small close-knit team, that thrive in this environment and love working for a Trust.